Despite

Despite. And I offer it as a word: as big
as a bridge whose end is in the mouth
of a mist. As long as a list of everything
we have forgotten. As disconcerting as
a reflection in a mirror that isn’t. Despite
everything, there is still this life. And in
this life, as you try to dream, a star will
give you a poem. If you just keep doing
the things you cannot but do, completely
unfathomable theories will curl together
in your mind and explain themselves to
you. If you leave yourself behind and walk
under the trees, one stranger will show
an unexpected kindness that will make
you cry as you describe it, years later to
another. Despite everything, there is still
this life. And in this life, as on a giant
chalkboard, you can write and erase and
write and erase, until one day, someone
will know what you didn’t leave behind.
I don’t know how to love this life. I don’t
know how to measure its love. Despite
that, bulbuls fly into my terrace at dawn.
Some days, that is more than enough.

***

For Mary’s prompt at What’s Going On?.

18 thoughts on “Despite

  1. Just beautiful. This whole section resonated with me:

    “Despite
    everything, there is still this life. And in
    this life, as you try to dream, a star will
    give you a poem. If you just keep doing
    the things you cannot but do, completely
    unfathomable theories will curl together
    in your mind and explain themselves to
    you.”

    and the end:

    “I don’t know how to love this life. I don’t
    know how to measure its love. Despite
    that, bulbuls fly into my terrace at dawn.
    Some days, that is more than enough.”

    But I love the whole thing.

    Like

  2. “Despite
    everything, there is still this life. And in
    this life, as you try to dream, a star will
    give you a poem.” And so here is the poem. How difficult and surreal the mouth that holds the word “despite.” Thank you for always undertaking the challenge, when the smallest most innocent things, gracing us, have to be enough.

    Like

  3. A beautiful poem which captures the realities of how life can have many tough times. At times, we don’t see many aspects of good…then as you say, that one glimpse changes moods and brings a smile.
    It’s much like trying to write poems..some days it works!

    Like

  4. How very lovely. I love “If you try to dream, a star will give you a poem.” And the bulbuls flying into your terrace at dawn. Love of this life continues, through it all. A completely gorgeous and inspiring poem.

    Like

  5. “Despite everything, there is still / this life.”….We are so fortunate to live it, despite everything. And what a wonder when a Bulbul flew into your line and nestled. Love it, Rajani.

    Like

  6. This poem makes my heart sing, Rajani! I should print it out and put it on my mirror and read it every day that I am feeling down about all that is happening in the world. T “Despite everything, there is still this life. ” I think some days I/we just have to remember that. And I will keep my eyes wide open for those “unexpected kindnesses.” Thank you for this!

    Like

  7. I love this poem, Rajani, these lines especially:
    ‘…And in
    this life, as you try to dream, a star will
    give you a poem’
    and
    ‘If you leave yourself behind and walk
    under the trees, one stranger will show
    an unexpected kindness that will make
    you cry as you describe it, years later to
    another.’
    May bulbuls fly into your terrace every dawn.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.