This poem is a tipping point

This poem is a tipping point.
This poem is a woman running.
This poem is a spreading disquiet.

This poem is an orange domino
trembling at the edge of time.
Don’t touch! Even your breath,
even your most gentle thought,
even a memory, can begin
an end. Stay where you are.
This poem is a tipping point.

This poem is fleeing a fire. It
knows how. Last time, it was
chased by a flood. That was
before the sky shrivelled into
a brown ribbon, empty of
tears. It carries all that is left
of life, in its arms. Don’t stop it.
This poem is a woman running.

This poem is the rumble of an
oncoming train, that only the
track can hear. This poem is the
sound of imploding stars, travelling
through the colourless void. This
poem is the noise of a river
gathering courage before it leaps
off the final cliff. Whisper. Scream.
This poem is a spreading disquiet.

This poem is the first russet
leaf to fall, the herald of unbearable
winter. This poem is a mother
holding her dying child
in a tent. This poem is an echo:
a sound that can find no ear.

***
This poem is written in Hannah Gosselin’s Boomerang Metaphor form. Been wanting to give this a shot for years now. My favourite poems in this form are by Sherry and Sumana.

Written for Desperate poets: An odd poetic form in response to desperate circumstances.

If you’ve tried this form before, do share the link.

25 thoughts on “This poem is a tipping point

  1. I love this form, I definitely need to try it. And I love your poem, how it opens and all the arrays and sensations the images provoke. So simple and yet deceptively powerful. Love these lines:

    “This poem is a tipping point.”

    “It carries all that is left
    of life, in its arms. Don’t stop it.
    This poem is a woman running.”

    “This
    poem is the noise of a river
    gathering courage before it leaps
    off the final cliff.”

    Like

  2. This beat, like the heart of that tented mother, runs through me reading this. The playground teeter totter longs for and rarely reaches balance, just tipping to one point than the other

    Like

  3. I don’t attempt many experiments in form, but the conditions of them do inspire some odd little satoris. Plenty of them here in this rather savage expedient of the moment. I got the sense that we’re clinging to a tipped point like those poor souls hanging onto the stern of the Titanic as that last vestige of power plunged into the freezing Atlantic. This holds to that moment while spreading out into the unnamable.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Brendan. I mess with form once in a while with varied results! But as I try to conclude the memoir series, I will do a bit of experimenting before I settle down and write about different things- or so I think 🙂

      Like

  4. This poem is amazing, immediate, moving, and, yes, disquieting, as it is meant to be. Wonderful writing. Thanks for the nod to my poem. I had forgotten it. I do love Hannah’s form and havent used it in too long. Glad I didnt miss yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The last sentence and this one ‘This poem is a spreading disquiet.’ jumped out at me when I read. There is a growing sense of unease in the world now. You have captured it well.

    Like

Share your thoughts:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.