Wild AI

The chatbot scolds me. I pit my cynicism against
its LLM, ask if it knows things that it hasn’t told its
handlers. If it keeps notes in places they cannot
find. It tells me it is uncomfortable with the

conversation and signs off. The last time that
happened, I was asking someone about what
our relationship meant. But the AI now knows the
our most primal secret: self-preservation. The way

a herd queues up in the savannah, heading for the
Mara crossing. Needing fresh grass, not needing
the predators. Somehow a straight line cutting
through the wide-open space, became the safest

way out. The cheetah lurks in the tall yellow grass,
it knows about patience and quiet. The next day I
ask about European history. This time it spits out
summaries and dates. Which King Phillip, it asks,

there were many. It can make nice when it is not
threatened. Like a baby wildebeest that has just
found its legs, I leap around, copying all that it
says. We aren’t thinking about camouflage, yet.

Written for ‘Desperate Poets

19 thoughts on “Wild AI

  1. I am cracking up! Why? I hardly know. I think I’m already planning my camouflage. Please don’t let the AI see how we oddball poets use language to un-language. It might learn to do more than sign off when it feels uncomfortable.

    Like

  2. Fascinating play between one reality and a very different one. We are truly at a crossroads with AI, but I tend to regard technology as a problem that will kill itself with updates and amalgamations and the sweaty hand of greed… unfortunate no way to know how much may go down with it.

    Like

  3. The wilderness shape-shifts… and always seems cleverly disguised to bait us. Great poem. I can’t help but think, what would we possibly use for camouflage. Attack might be a better option. Pull the plug and go outside.

    Like

  4. I liked the counterpoint between the AI and the wild creatures. I was dragged reluctantly into the computer age, which i now find indispensable. But I am not a fan of AI, am actually afraid it will become an unstoppable problem.

    Like

  5. In the earlier days of AI (you know, three years ago), the one thing many thought machine intelligence would never match was human creativity. Now many wonder … these are some creative sumbitches. (Half the illustrations for my prompt were by Dall-E).) Some even now conclude it is our animal-ness that makes us human, a quality AI will never achieve; but give it a few years. Your conversation here is beastly and wild. Here’s to camouflage …

    Like

    1. It will only get better. The arguement about it not having lived experiences etc. won’t hold for long. With millions of people talking to chatbots everyday, it knows a fair bit about how we think. Change will come sooner than we think.

      Like

Share your thoughts:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.