I am the New Autumn

I am the new autumn that will not disrobe my trees,
what perversion requires such debauched rhythms?

What new life must be wrought by denying the old,
can’t we tempt the sun to adopt our bespoke rituals?

Remember the spring we dreamt up unseen colours and
our rainbows wore more than seven bands, what

happened that you now denude that spectrum and crave
bare silhouettes pressed against silent nights? There

are still hues beneath my fingernails where they dug
into the painted flesh of that last summer. I am the

autumn that cannot let go and face a monochrome winter,
why does love have to change and fall before each rising?

41 thoughts on “I am the New Autumn

  1. Excellent.

    I especially like these:

    “what perversion requires such debauched rhythms?”

    “Remember the spring we dreamt up unseen colours and
    our rainbows wore more than seven bands” … I don’t, but I big-time wanna see.

    “still hues beneath my fingernails where they dug into
    the dyed skin of that last summer”

    Like

  2. I enjoyed your rebellious autumn, Rajani, especially the lines:
    ‘autumn … cannot let go and face a monochrome winter,
    why does love have to change and fall before each rising?’

    Like

  3. I love those closing lines especially. Here, our fall is going on forever. It is worrisome but one cant help enjoying the golden sunshine, day after day, even though the rainforest longs for winter storms.

    Like

  4. “. . . still hues beneath my fingernails where they dug
    into the painted flesh of that last summer.. . .”

    Oh, mine too, mine too. But it is futile to try to hold on.
    Powerful poem speaks for too many!

    Like

  5. I enjoyed your poem, there is a lot here to ponder. These two lines are especially wonderful.

    Remember the spring we dreamt up unseen colours and
    our rainbows wore more than seven bands,

    Like

  6. “…the painted flesh of that last summer. I am the / autumn that cannot let go and face a monochrome winter,…”. Oh, I feel like that this fall, Rajani. I want autumn to stay and stay!

    Like

Please leave a Thot...

