Weariness has the same texture as cloud

I give up. I have no more arguments. Inevitability falls like snow upon snow. I wrap defeat like a shawl around my head. It keeps out the world. It keeps in my world. Words taste of incense inside my mouth. Truth burns like gunpowder. My face is cold.

Infinite beauty will never be fashioned from a finite set of words. In how many complete ways can I say I am broken? I sing myself dirges. Each splintered part wants its own song. A complete person is a set of infinite dirges, many never heard, many never sung, many never remembered. An incomplete person ends in silence.

What am I without the shroud of poetry that covers my nakedness. It is the only way you could have known me: translated into a poem. Into a shroud. Some verses, some lines, some words are lost. Replaced by spaces. A person, a part, a poem, a word, in the end, becomes a space. Space something else will occupy. Loss is white. The colour of erasure. The colour of forgetting.

Half of me wants to live inside a quietude, without the other half. Half of me wants to die inside a wild festival, without the other half. We make do, sometimes, one half and the other, under a waning moon. It too has other parts. It too wonders if I am celebration or silence. There were nights when I was both. There were nights when there was no moon.

My weariness is weary. I watch everything move like the earth. At great speed. Yet motionless. I cannot put one foot before another. Movement implies direction. Transfer. Destination. Perhaps within, I too race around in some orbit. Motionless. That implies a sun. Light. Alternating dark. Dreams. I watch everything, weary. Weariness has the same texture as cloud.

Of all sounds, the worst is the beat of rain. Like an anomaly. I need a solid sky. That keeps out the rain. An umbrella that filters out the light. Getting wet was never the plan. A shredded sky was never the plan. Comfort needs roofs. Roofs that keep out sound. Roofs that don’t shred themselves. Roofs that don’t mend themselves the next morning, mocking your still broken face. Rain is the opposite of dirge.

So I will stop. Stop is not a tombstone. Or an electric pyre. Stop is just a road that ends in an open field. No signboards. No memory. When I am recycled, I will have wings. A butterfly. A moth. Something in the air. To hover over my shadow. I have planned to leave it half-sitting-half standing, half-quiet, half-lit, half-weary, half-fashioned into finite words, half its head covered in a shawl, in a place where it never rains. The moon knows. I will wait with its other parts. My shadow is a forgotten space. Snow upon snow. My face is cold.

26 thoughts on “Weariness has the same texture as cloud

  1. You have taken me many places with your poem. The shadow forgotten,but you are not forgotten. Somethings i think about-annell

    Like

  2. All so poignant and beautifully described. I love the 3rd and 4th stanzas especially but I love the whole thing, including the title. So many good lines, these stood out for me:

    “Truth burns like gunpowder.”

    “Infinite beauty will never be fashioned from a finite set of words.”

    “I sing myself dirges. Each splintered part wants its own song.”

    Like

  3. “. . . I wrap defeat like a shawl around my head. It keeps out the world. ”
    “What am I without the shroud of poetry that covers my nakedness.”
    “Weariness has the same texture as cloud”
    “Infinite beauty will never be fashioned from a finite set of words.”
    “A person, a part, a poem, a word, in the end, becomes a space.”
    “We make do, sometimes, one half and the other, under a waning moon. It too has other parts.”
    “My weariness is weary. . . . Weariness has the same texture as cloud.”
    “Comfort needs roofs.”
    “Stop is just a road that ends in an open field.”
    “To hover over my shadow. I have planned to leave it half-sitting-half standing, half-quiet, half-lit, half-weary, half-fashioned into finite words, half its head covered in a shawl, in a place where it never rains. ”

    We have been here before. Like unrequited love, infinite beauty is just out of reach. How is that defeat? I get the weariness after striving, striving, always stopping short of what we believe must exist. I want to grab you. and say don’t stop! Look at these beautiful lines, images, ideas! Clouds like butterflies float over our shadows, and have short lives–but not broken ones. What am I saying? You move me to the core and certainly speak for millions of tired strivers. Sometimes I am one. Bless you. You know, at times I thought this voice was the earth speaking through you?!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Susan. It is exhausting sometimes, trying to understand the chaos inside and out. The unrelenting images of the war, the apathy, the distortion, life itself, personal battles… so many are going through it, am definitely not the only one. Through some ironic miracle, I find words for what I feel. Not that it changes anything. But I receive your blessing like a warm hug and am grateful for it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. From your heart through mine to the Divine Mystery … unknowing, paradoxical, presence, sublime. Ah, the weariness, mine is like a tightly woven cocoon…a portal to transformation?

    Like

  5. The poem reads like a stream of consciousness; flowing forever as it were. Though it stops it never ends. “A person, a part, a poem, a word, in the end, becomes a space. Space something else will occupy. Loss is white. The colour of erasure. The colour of forgetting.” The lines are so intense! What an amazing read, Rajani!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. “It is the only way you could have known me, translated into a poem.” I have always said those who read my poems know me better than my real-life people who dont. I resonate with “weariness has the same texture as cloud.” I know the feeling when the words come all by themselves. This is really beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, Ranjani, I FEEL the weariness so strongly in your poem. These are my favorite lines:

    “Half of me wants to live inside a quietude, without the other half. Half of me wants to die inside a wild festival, without the other half. We make do, sometimes, one half and the other, under a waning moon.” I can definitely empathize with the different aspects of self, and sometimes I think we NEED these differences to prevent us from sinking into one or another. A brilliant write — all the way through!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.