Still a Weed

there she was, reading a Murakami,
the light arranging itself carefully around her young
shoulders, iced tea sweating, waiting for no one,
expecting no one, no phone, no ring,
just a fragment of consciousness filling the now,

I let the years run through my hands like grain,
knowing I had seen too much, seen nothing,
and somehow they were both the same,
you see, a weed that survives the storm
is still a weed, maybe there were warnings, little wind chimes
that repeated requiems in every breeze, but I wasn’t listening,
not until I had heard too much, or heard nothing, and
both began to sound the same, all this time,
as if we have been walking too far, too much,
always reaching a fork, always taking different paths,
still walking together, walking apart,

I can see her, the draft from the air conditioner
pulling her hair, shifting slightly as she turns a page,
she reads slowly, I say to myself, trying to forget,
a book that survives that pace is not the same book,
as though I remember everything, remember
nothing and somehow here, alone, reading together,
reading apart, both feel exactly the same.

34 thoughts on “Still a Weed

  1. ‘but I wasn’t listening, not until I had heard too much, or heard nothing, and both began to sound the same, all this time, as if we have been walking too far, too much, always reaching a fork, always taking different paths, still walking together, walking apart’ .. this is so incredibly deep!

    Like

  2. I let the years run through my hands like grain,
    knowing I had seen too much, seen nothing,
    and somehow they were both the same

    I loved your poem, but the above three lines were especially beautiful!

    Like

  3. I like the sweet tea image and the line about the book not being the same, read that way, and especially knowing nothing and everything at the same time.

    Like

  4. The emotions that your lines evoke in me as if I am riding waves… ‘seen too much, seen nothing’ and walk too far, too much’ seem to sometimes take us nowhere and at the same time to the same place….fascinating as I read it over again and ride the waves in a different direction each time. Really well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a Thot...

