The Absurdity Of Light

That’s why I left, to follow a different caravan, we couldn’t
agree on the meaning of light, if everything is an illusion, you

asked, does the mind brighten only what it can stand, you
even stole from Eliot, humankind cannot bear very much

reality, you were the darkness that spoke a different
tongue, your idea of space was to confer with the moon

perched on a swaying treetop, for me, it was a steel cuboid
in which my thoughts paced alone, you heard the rain falling

on grass in the rhythm of a birthing dance, my deluge had
the hoarse cadence of concrete and tiles and rusted tin sheets,

the drum roll of death, I left because we couldn’t agree if
there was light, but you return like night in the window of a

hurtling train, constantly shifting, constantly still, no don’t
reach for my hand, being with you again means feeling the

weight of truth across my body, letting the scream break free,
shrouding the sun and tasting the dirt in my mouth, you question

Rumi, the morning has slipped out of the wounds, you say, now
let the dusk begin to heal again, I left because we couldn’t agree

we needed light, now your opaque shadow trickles over my
skin, tell me how will I learn to unsee the world again.

62 thoughts on “The Absurdity Of Light

  1. This is so incredibly deep and profound.💘 Especially love; “Rumi, the morning has slipped out of the wounds, you say, now let the dusk begin to heal again, I left because we couldn’t agree we needed light, now your opaque shadow trickles over my skin, tell me how will I learn to unsee the world again.”💘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rumi apparently said the wound is the place where the light enters you..and I say apparently because I don’t know the source or the original poem. But this is a famous quote like the one about the field beyond good and bad…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I cannot begin to tell you how inspiring this poem is to me. Your style and phrasing is superb, but more than that, you have touched my soul with your words, when I most needed a message of truth.
    Thank you.

    Like

  3. “your idea of space was to confer with the moon

    perched on a swaying treetop, for me, it was a steel cuboid
    in which my thoughts paced alone”

    There seemed to be a need for holding to material reality back when no one else was going to earn my living. But now? Living with the paradox of both science and the supernatural comes easier with age. But how not to regret the years lost without this higher truth? There’s a degree of gratitude that–though I was masked–something believed in me.

    Brilliant! I love how your poems get under my skin with their truths most profound.

    Like

    1. Thanks Susan… between darkness and light, whatever they represent in each life, we sometimes can choose the wrong one… life perhaps is not that black and white…and maybe there will be a second chance to change our minds. I think that journey is as important as the ultimate destination.

      Like

    1. Thanks Sumana.. not sure if that’s Rumi or not, though it is attributed to him. The speaker leaves in search of light, maybe only to find that light can play tricks while darkness doesn’t try to hide anything, it is just being itself. 🙂

      Like

  4. I started to read this poem with my eyes. I ended up going back to the beginning and reading every word aloud. Light and darkness are now having their own reunion within me. Thank you.

    Like

  5. Oh, my goodness, I inhaled this poem in a rush… then savored every word and transition. The steel cuboid really gets to me. Disagreement about light and subsequent regret… this is very affecting. Thank you.

    Like

Please leave a Thot...

