Life is a Robin

life is a robin, this morning,
singing on the maple branch
outside my window,
and I only say that
because I’ve never seen a robin
around these parts,
though, mind you, they are probably around
delighting the more discerning,
as for the maple
all that fills my window
is a skinny flame of the forest,
at a reddish distance,
maybe there are mynahs there,
brown feathered, almost invisible
in the dusty morning light,
but consider the song,
a litany burning inside my head,
familiar, alien, like bells that toll everyday
but suddenly quiver and rhyme
when you listen to them through a stranger’s ear,
life is a robin today,
on a maple branch outside my window,
and I only say that,
because I’ve never seen it,
because there is no maple,
because there is no window,
but sure as hell
it sings that mournful song.

41 thoughts on “Life is a Robin

  1. ominous turn at the end there! Love this: “as for the maple
    all that fills my window
    is a skinny flame of the forest,” and you are inspirational

    the same old words
    cut and paste
    follow the script, Rote!
    every day the voice is the same
    but suddenly quiver and rhyme
    when you sing them through a stranger’s ear

    Like

  2. a litany burning inside my head,
    familiar, alien, like bells that toll everyday
    but suddenly quiver and rhyme
    when you listen to them through a stranger’s ear,
    life is a robin today,
    on a maple branch outside my window

    Sigh.. beautifully worded❤️

    Like

  3. A robin is a lovely bird, and around here in summer they are abundant; it would be sad not to have robins in one’s life. I like the ending, as the reader realizes that so much was in the poet’s imagination!

    Like

  4. Maybe, the robin brings a song in different realms of reality. The twist at the ends makes me think of something imaginary and perhaps a bit of darkness as robins are birds of spring.

    Like

  5. Oh, you lead me in wondrous places with your weaving of words! (I wish that the song at the end hadn’t been mournful, but that’s the way life is sometimes.)

    Like

Please leave a Thot...

