That’s It

that’s it, universe, we’re done,
it’s all over between us,
your celestial pyrotechnics leave me cold,
the passion that burnt stars across your velour skin
is shrouded in a faithless cloud,
love has returned to its barren womb,
don’t bring me your rasping birdsong,
your sulphurous threnody,
your breath snags on the rough edges
of your deception,
and now you roll the moon through my window,
it bounces softly by my feet, once, twice,
its gleaming hands tug my toes,
but you chose wrong,
how can I be placated
by a temperamental orb
of stolen shine,
that will be gone at first light,
it’s over now, let us brood in our corners,
for a while, for what was,
you in your spangled robe
tucked into the infinite dark,
you in your blindfold,
somewhere within my blackened soul,
me, in the hem of your skirt,
wordless, broken,
each gasp scratched by your harsh callouses,
your promise stuck like a splinter in my cheek,
the waning moon,
awkwardly balanced in my hand,
singing our song.

29 thoughts on “That’s It

  1. You are such a kick-ass poet. This makes me want to get on all fours and growl with you.

    I love that section about the moon.

    Like

  2. Totally love this interaction with you and that disappointing universe. Your images are incredible here…especially “how can I be placated
    by a temperamental orb
    of stolen shine,
    that will be gone at first light,
    it’s over now, let us brood in our corners,” and “me, in the hem of your skirt, wordless, broken.” How do you do it?! Fantastic.

    Like

  3. Oh! the first thought I had in reading the early parts is ‘someone got up on the wrong side of the bed’….LOL! But this is marvelous!!! You got more sass at the moon than I would ever know. Love this, it is pure poetry in motion!

    Like

  4. Dark with all the passion of the waning moon ~ This resonates with me in the light of the political turmoil of our world ~ Thanks for joining us ~

    Like

Comments are closed.