Nightless Moon

and then you returned
the moon to my sky,
half dead with longing,
half alive in mourning,
all i asked was for you
to keep her safe,
while my bloodied hands
dried in the warmth of day,
but you let her see you
through a veil of rain,
you let her hear
your songs of pain,
you taught her to love,
you taught her to cry,
then sent her back
across an endless sea,
sent her where she can never be,
a monsoon cloud
darkened by her tears,
screaming for release
at the first sight of her fears,
what can i tell her,
where will I keep her,
over ice cold veins, her skin stretched thin,
her accusing eyes the colour of my guilt,
tell me even if your
soul is bare,
tell me even if you
cannot care,
how do i put back together
this night
that I just killed?

51 thoughts on “Nightless Moon

  1. What a clever poem – i could picture the moon held in a palm..just wanting a rest but being returned to a bloodied sky – a wonderful metaphor and an aching plea..

    Like

  2. “and then you returned
    the moon to my sky,”

    Often the things we think we have lost, were never lost at all; only withdrawn for a time, to allow us to grow.
    This is such a cleverly crafted poem, one of your best i think
    I am happy you dropped in at my Sunday Lime today Thotpurge

    much love…

    Like

    1. Thanks so much Matthew. When I read the finished poem, I realized that at some point, it had picked up a tempo of its own and gone into rhyme..and I just let it be. Am delighted you picked up on it. Much appreciated.

      Like

  3. he moon to my sky,
    half dead with longing,
    half alive in mourning,

    I love the use of contrasting images throughout the poem.

    Like

  4. somehow, your poem reminds me of a painful moment i know, when i saw a loved one on a mortuary slab.
    powerful poem! and as someone had written, the rhymes are there but are not in-your-face type.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This poem is beautiful. It conveys a strong feeling of discomfort, of despair in not knowing what to do after doing something wrong. The regret is so strong. Makes me think of the moments we kill by not appreciating what is. I think this is now my favorite of yours.

    Like

  6. Each threaded step takes me deeper. Again, you speak directly to the reader, with no aimless, softening screens. The interaction beteen writer and reader in your poetry is an exciting one, where reading is an active task, not passive one of mere appreciation

    Like

    1. That’s such a kind comment, thank you. But I consciously do that when I revise the draft, try and trim every word I think is superfluous..sometimes it works!!

      Like

Please leave a Thot...

