Heart Afire

The ugly sky was shedding charred skin,
fiery welts were glowing through its punctured flesh,
the night that had concealed the hideous torment was dying,
all that was safe was burning in a pyre of soul-stripping light.

But then a glowing peak rose like the tip of a flame,
searing the air in puffs of aurum dust,
dragging the eye with it to the realm of the unchained spirit,
while fear watched, afraid to breathe, afraid to blink, afraid to care.

Nature in its birthing ritual was releasing another syncretic dawn,
mirroring the heart, an amalgam of black hope and golden despair,
a child of the eternal infinite, ephemeral as the rising sun,
damned like the lover in hades and blessed like a four-winged flower.

25/3/15: Posted on DversePoets

29 thoughts on “Heart Afire

  1. I’m no idea what you’re on, it doesn’t matter. Your last few poems have been invaders from an unknown Universe, words so powerful that my mind was jarred into startled awareness of larger worlds surrounding me. True art!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Have done that now Mary, thank you for reminding me. I read your poem first thing in the morning but it wouldn’t let me comment with my wordpress or OpenID… I loved the idea of the images saved in the pewter cup… 🙂

      Like

      1. Phew! Thanks!! Glad it wasn’t just me!!! Was trying to find a way without google..keep things separate..but guess that’s the only option now 🙂

        Like

      2. Oh, hope you will try the google sign in like Kanzenakura suggested…I use my google sign in on Bloggers & WordPress sign in on Word Press blogs. Give it a try….

        Like

  2. I like the way this goes from kinda scary to hopeful and so descriptive of the sky’s beauty. Startling words but when I close my eyes, I can see it so clearly and it is so familiar.

    Like

Please leave a Thot...

