Give Me A Rainstorm

Now give me a rainstorm,
to keep on my shelf,
give me a bottle
of wondrous rage.

When silence floats long in the midday sun,
that its lips would crumble at a touch;
when desire shivers, terrified
of the lengthening shadows of dusk;
when foolishness circles overhead,
homing in on hopeless lust;

I can pour myself some lightning bolts
that will shred this impossible sky;
laugh as I shake the frenzied rain,
crush the grey clouds dry;
or mix at will, a surging wave,
to swallow a time gone by.

Now fill glasses of rainstorm
to fend off this night,
empty that bottle
of wondrous rage.

A beautiful 2015 to everyone out there. Peace, love, fulfilment and … more poetry!!

10/4/15: Posted on Dverse Poets

21 thoughts on “Give Me A Rainstorm

  1. ha – i wonder how our weather would look if people had rainstorms on their shelves to use if necessary… i def. love a good rainstorm every once and a while – it cleans the air

    Like

  2. What a unique idea really…to keep a rainstorm on one’s shelf. I like the idea of, at will, using those lightning bolts. And also the idea of filling glasses with rainstorm and emptying that bottle of rage. And what a good feeling that would be!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the title and the passionate verses specially:

    I can pour myself some lightning bolts
    that will shred this impossible sky;
    laugh as I shake the frenzied rain,
    crush the grey clouds dry;
    or mix at will, a surging wave,
    to swallow a time gone by.

    Definitely a keeper for me ~

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I like this. A nice big carafe to hold a big rainstorm! I could use one now with all the pollen in the air and then later on when the summer gets so hot and muggy. Pour it out in the evening and clear the air and have a cool next morning. I really enjoyed this lovely piece.

    Like

Comments are closed.